The Name Of the Game is “Situation Awareness”

By Francisco Mateo

 I recently engaged on an interesting discussion on a social network group. The topic happens to be the security precautions, or the lack there of, some very rich VIP’s should take when staying at luxury hotels.  I thought I share this comment with you as we’re all guilty of “false sense of security creep” at one time or another:   

“My assessment of the situation based on reports would basically focus on the fact that the perp created an affinity with the victim along ethnic lines by speaking to them in Spanish; this made the victims lower their guards in a false sense of trust. When the perp later returns to allegedly fix the AC, their guards were all the way down. Against all judgment and when all kinds of bells should’ve went off they opened the door allowing the perp to consummate the well planned robbery.”

 I do not want to focus on the fact that a luxury hotel facilities as this one have a duty to provide proper levels of security to their customers as that would open up another can of worms, but the fact remains that a VIP is viable to lower his/her guards on account that such luxuries surroundings ought to have their security squared away.  For the most part that is true, but their defenses are no match for clever swindlers who planned with ample anticipation.  

Being rich, or perceived as rich, adds a level of risk to your profile during travel http://bit.ly/abvs0q

4 Responses to “The Name Of the Game is “Situation Awareness””

  1. Rashida Gilleland Says:

    This is a great post, I stumbled across your article while looking for music. Thanks for sharing, I’ll be sure to recommend this site to others.

  2. Antonetta Susswein Says:

    Can not be told better, thank you.

  3. The International “Hostage Business” « Security Beyond Borders™ Says:

    […] Scams Library 5 Successful CounterfeitersA friend of mine says she can tell counterfeit bills by the way they feel. Is this possible?How Con Artists WorkHow Cooking the Books WorksHow Counterfeiting WorksHow does a counterfeit detector pen work?How Identity Theft WorksHow Long-Distance Scams WorkHow Money Laundering WorksHow Pickpockets WorkHow Ponzi Schemes WorkHow Pyramid Schemes WorkHow White Collar Crime Works « The Name Of the Game is “Situation Awareness” […]

  4. Winfred Fitzhugh Says:

    Hello! I have been reading some of your posts and am happy to see that your articles are actually informtive. I myself am a blog owner and have visited many blogs lately in order to meet some site owners who are interested in running blogs with high quality articles. The problem is that most blog owners these days steal their articles from other sites or other blogs. Many blogs I visit generally contain the same info. I see that your articles are original and you put a lot of work into your site. I mostly own blogs about pets. To be more specific, my blogs generally deal with dog health issues. I do run a huge vbulletin forum with hundreds of members. It is a community site ith a blog and many other functions. I do not want you to think that this message is spam because I would never do that to anyone. I myself know how annoying it is to have to filter my blogs for spam. With all that said, I will not bombard your website with all my links, but I would like to howeer post a link to the site that I just mentioned to you. I would really like it if you could visit my site and give me some feedback. For the ultimate gsd pedigree database, check me out!


Leave a Reply

